Click to register for Lifesaving World Championship 2024 at Australia

About Lifesaving

Training Programs

The Indian Lifesaving & Lifesaving Sports Federation offers its lifesaving, lifeguarding and leadership training programs in all provinces and territories.

The lifesaving programs include the Indian Swim Patrol and the Bronze Medal awards. The National Lifeguard Service® awards include NL Pool, NL Waterpark, NL Waterfront and NL Surf. The Leadership Training Programs are for instructors, examiners and trainers of the Society’s programs. In addition to these National mandatory programs, Branches may offer other programs such as learn-to-swim or first aid.

Program descriptions, prerequisites and test items are available by clicking each program link below.

Lifesaving Programs, Lifeguarding Programs, Leadership Programs, Additional Programs

Lifesaving Sports

The sport of lifesaving is the only known sport in the world where participants first learn the skills for humanitarian purposes and only later use them in competition.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Commonwealth Games Federation both recognize the International Life Saving Federation (ILS) as the world governing body for lifesaving sport.

The Indian Lifesaving & Lifesaving Sports Federation promotes competition as a training incentive and a showcase for the abilities and professionalism of our lifeguards. The Sport Commission manages lifesaving sport for the Lifesaving Society India, working together with the 10 member branches across the country.

Lifesaving Programs

The Indian Lifesaving & Lifesaving Sports Federation Sport Commission is the National Sport Organization (NSO) and governing body for lifesaving sport inIndia. The Sport Commission is fully accountable to the Lifesaving Society India’s Board of Directors and operates with the following objects:

To support the drowning prevention work of the Lifesaving Society and its humanitarian mission;

To provide athletes, coaches and officials opportunities for participation in lifesaving sport at all levels from developmental to high-performance;

To internationally position the Lifesaving Society as a leader in lifesaving sport and provide Indians international opportunities for the pursuit of excellence.

The lifesaving programs include theIndian Swim Patrol and the Bronze Medal awards. Developing proficiency in lifesaving, resuscitation and water rescue skills, these awards provide swimmers with life skills that will last a lifetime and can be used as ‘building blocks’ toward further first aid and lifeguard training.

Lifeguarding Programs

The National Lifeguard Service award builds on the skills, knowledge and values that the Lifesaving Society teaches in its Pre-Bronze and Bronze Medal awards to develop the practical skills and knowledge required by lifeguards. The National Lifeguard Service awards include NL Pool, NL Waterpark, NL Waterfront and NL Surf.

Recognized as the standard measure of lifeguard performance in India, National Lifeguard education is designed to develop a sound understanding of lifeguarding principles, good judgment, and a mature and responsible attitude toward the role of the lifeguard.

The primary role of the National Lifeguard is the prevention of emergency situations and, where this fails, the timely and effective resolution of emergencies. The NL award is designed to prepare lifeguards to fulfil this role as professional facilitators of safe, enjoyable aquatics.

The National Lifeguard courses cannot, in theory or practice, prepare candidates for every situation that might occur while working in Indian aquatic environments and facilities. NL training is designed to teach the principles and develop the basic lifeguarding skills and decision-making processes that will help lifeguards evaluate and adapt to different aquatic facilities and emergencies.

Program descriptions, prerequisites and test items are available by clicking each program link below. It is important to note that the prerequisites listed are the minimum requirements; Branches reserve the right to add prerequisites to the minimums listed. Contact your local Branch for specific provincial/territorial prerequisites and completion requirements.

Back to top